Department of General Studies (GSE)



The General Studies Department is designed to exposed students to a variety of knowledge across disciplines. It is aimed at enabling students appreciate the interrelationship among discipline in an integrated world, which is fast becoming one big village. Advancement in science and technology is breaking down traditional boundaries in human development, knowledge and communication. The computer is also actively making obsolete the compartmentalization of human knowledge. Therefore, General Studies Education Department creates awareness and functionality in the present day world. It also offers the potentials for bridging the gaps in human knowledge, thereby preparing students to meet and overcome the challenges of the changing world. Other areas cover by Department of General Studies Education vision include the following: Exposure of students to appreciate and analyze Nigeria and human history and culture. Acquire through independent research, the skills and information for appreciating the basic and nature of human character, value and action to use such action and information in solving human problems. Develop critical thinking and imagination to apply basic mathematics skill in solving problems of everyday life. Acquire proficiency in the use of English language for effective communication. Bases on the relevance of General Studies Education, tertiary institutions ensure that the Department of course General Studies Education Courses are compulsorily offered by all students aside their core areas of specialization to equip them to function in the contemporary world.


Before 1999, what is refers today as Department of General Studies existed as a unit and co-ordinated under Educational foundation with Dr. Ogbonna Freshlife as the Pioneer Coodinator. He held this office till 1999 when the department was formally instituted in 2000 with Dr. Oguegbune – Okwuenu as the Head of Department. The Pioneer Lecturers who formally began the department were Dr. Mark Ogar Omu, Mr. Frank Matiki, Mr. Emmanuel Adie Ishiekwe and Late Mr. Gabriel Ayeni.

Following the reviewed of the educational curriculum, the General Education courses were increase, it became pertinent to increase the member of staffs in the department, and also appoint a core staff to head the department. On this premise Dr. Mark Ogar Omu was appointed head of department from 2002 – 2004. Upon completion of his second term, Mr. Frank Matiki was appointed to head in 2005 and within this his tenure six additional staff were posted to the department, they include Mr. Ukpabi, A., Mr. Anyawho S., Mr. Akpanke, S., Dr. Opie N., and Mr. Ekpungu, A., Mr. Nchu Ben. A year later, two new staff were employed and posted to the Department, which were Mr. Ntamu, N. and Mrs. Abotsi F. currently, with the posting of Mr. Dzum J. S to the department has a total of eleven (11) Academic staff and three (3) non teaching staff.

Midway into Mr. Frank Matiki second tenure which began from 2007 – 2008 he took leave of absence for community service and the department was again handed back to Dr. Mark Omu to head, from 2008 - 2012, upon of the head of department completion of that tenure, Mr. Ishiekwen Emmanuel assumed the office and headed for two tenures from 2010 and handed over  Mr. Ukpabi, Augustine Imenene in 2014. Midway into his second tenure, Mr Ukpabi suddenly passed on in 2018. The mantle of leadership of the  Department  then felt on Dr Matiki F. Monkap  who is currently the Head of Department. General Studies has three (3) organized units; these include


  • The Arts Unit
  • The Sciences Unit
  • The Social Science Unit


Members of Staff

Teaching Staff

1. Dr. Matiki, Francis Monkap Chief Lecturer
2. Dr. Opie, Oko Ngaji. Principal Lecturer
3. Ishiekwen, Emmanuel Adie. Lecturer I
4. Dr. Omu, Mark Ogar Chief Lecturer
5. Anyawho, Sylvanus Awirikure Lecturer I
6. Ekpungu, Anselm Lecturer I
7. Nchu, Benedict Akom Lecturer I
8. Dzum, Tyohemba Samuel Lecturer I
9. Akpanke, Sylvanus Aniahie Principal Lecturer
10. Ntamu, Joseph Agabi Senior Lecturer


Non-Teaching Staff

1. Adie, Thomas.  
2. Eraye  
3. Mrs Goodsman  


Dr. Matiki F. Monkap