Department of Educational Psychology



The vision of the department of psychology is to achieve excellence in the teaching of N.C.E and undergraduate students, the generation of new knowledge through research and counseling as well as the provision of service to the college, local communities, states, nation and international communities.

The vision is to provide students with an understanding of the mental structures and processes that underline individual human experience and behavior.

The scientific methodologies by which such a knowledge base is acquired, the under scores the critical thinking skills and skeptical inquiry necessary to evaluate scientific and popular claims concerning behaviour. Also, the application of scientific psychological principles to personal and social issues. It intends to educate and train students for careers in psychology.


Psychology is the study of behavior and mind, embracing all aspects of conscious experience as well as thought.

It is an academic discipline and an applied science which seeks to understand individuals and groups by establishing general principles and researching specific cases. The purpose of psychology is to describe thinking and behavior, look at the relationships between them and try to explain the causes for them. A psychologist’s intention is to understand, predict and or influence behavior.

Members of Staff

Teaching Staff

1. Ugbe, Lucy U. Ph. D Chief Lecturer
2. Israel, Paul C. Ph. D Chief Lecturer
3. Igbo, Benjamin A. Chief Lecturer
4. Madu, Virginia N. Ph. D Chief Lecturer
5. Undiandeye, Florence A. Ph. D Chief Lecturer
6. Ebuara, Emmanuel E. Ph. D Chief Lecturer
7. Bisong, Magdaline B.. Principal Lecturer
8. Udoette, Victoria P. Lecturer I
9. Uzor, Margaret O. Lecturer I
10. Agaba, George A Lecturer II
11. Wopara, Godson N.. Lecturer II
12. Idiege, Edward E. Lecturer II
13. Ube, Michael O. Lecturer II
14. Eguel, Ugodie C.s Lecturer II
15. Ebuara, Felicia Lecturer II
16. Oshie, Ctherine K. Lecturer III
17. Ambali, Abdullateef Lecturer III


Non-Teaching Staff

1. Agwu, Gregory S. Principal Statistician.
2. Awusha, Magdaline A. Executive OfficerI
3. Ayade, Mary I. Executive Officer
4. Azu, Emmanuel A. Chief Clerical Officer
4. Azu, Emmanuel A. Chief Clerical Officer
5. Oboyi, Francisca D. Clerical Officer
6. Ishamali, Franca U. Executive Officer
7. Ushie, Lydia E. Senior Clerical Officer
8. Coker, Jessica A Executive Officer